Menu Close

The 17th Annual International Conference on
Distributed Computing in Sensor Systems (DCOSS 2021)
July 14 – 16, 2021

* DCOSS 2021 Goes Virtual.

Due to the evolution of the health pandemic, the event will be held fully on-line. This will not impact the publication of the DCOSS 2021 proceedings and accepted papers will be included in the IEEE Xplore Proceedings. The virtual program will include live sessions of invited speakers and author presentations, possibly supplemented by online material such as the papers, presentation slides and videos. Reduced registration fees will apply. Check for updates at

Important Dates :

Extended Final Abstract/Paper Submission Deadline: March 31, 2021

Acceptance Notification: May 15, 2021

Camera Ready Deadline: May 31, 2021

DCOSS is technically co-sponsored by IEEE Computer Society and IEEE Technical Committee on Parallel Processing – TCPP.

A Special Issue of the Computer Networks (COMNET) Elsevier Journal will include selected best papers of DCOSS 2021.

Submissions instructions:

DCOSS 2021 is the 17th International Conference on Distributed Computing in Sensor Systems to be held fully on-line in July 14-16, 2021. In the last few years, we have witnessed a significant growth in the use of IoT and distributed sensor systems in a number of application areas, ranging from smart transport, energy and buildings, to factory automation, smart healthcare and environmental monitoring. In order for smart sensor systems to truly become useful and pervasive, we need to address a number of research challenges, including the tight integration of sensing and machine intelligence, reliable and efficient networking, interoperability and scalability, the need for dependable autonomy, interaction with humans, and important aspects of security, privacy and trust. DCOSS focuses on issues arising in the entire IoT and networked sensor systems stack: covering aspects of high-level abstractions, models and languages, novel algorithms and applications, system design approaches and architectures, as well as tools for simulated and real deployments. Potential authors are invited to submit original unpublished manuscripts that demonstrate recent advances in both theoretical and experimental research. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to, the following:

  • Artificial Intelligence for IoT
  • Smart healthcare to combat epidemics (including COVID-19)
  • Edge and fog computing: distributed computing models from sensor to cloud
  • Energy harvesting models and optimization
  • Machine intelligence in distributed sensor systems and real time analytics
  • Communication and networking primitives and protocols
  • Autonomy: closing the loop between sensing and actuation
  • Task allocation, reprogramming, and reconfiguration
  • Robustness, resilience and dependability
  • Security and privacy issues
  • Approaches, tools, and experience of deployment and operation
  • Performance analysis: complexity, correctness, scalability
  • Mobile and human-centered sensing
  • Interoperability, heterogeneity and scalability
  • Crowd sensing and social sensing techniques, applications, and systems
  • Complex systems comprising wearable, robotic and/or fixed sensor systems
  • Novel and compelling applications
  • IoT systems for emerging and developing economies
  • Green and environmentally-friendly IoT

Authors are invited to submit original unpublished manuscripts that demonstrate current research on distributed sensor systems related to DCOSS topics of interest. Please use the US letter size (8.5 X 11 in) standard IEEE conference LaTeX format or Microsoft Word template available on the link below:

Note that DCOSS does not follow the double-blind review policy. The names and affiliations of all the authors must be present in the submitted manuscript.

Please visit DCOSS website at for more information.

******** Main Organizers ********

Technical Program Committee Chairs :

  • Enzo Mingozzi (University of Pisa, Italy)
  • Stefano Basagni (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Jiannong Cao (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)

TPC Members :

  • Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign
  • Carlo Alberto Boano, Graz University of Technology
  • Azzedine Boukerche, University of Ottawa
  • Jean-Francois Chamberland, Texas A&M University
  • Kevin Chan, US CCDC Army Research Laboratory
  • Behnam Dezfouli, Santa Clara University
  • Jiaxin Ding, Shanghai Jiaotong university
  • Rahman Doost-Mohammady, Rice University
  • Thomas Erlebach, University of Leicester
  • Valerio Frascolla, Intel Labs Europe
  • Jie Gao, Rutgers University
  • Omprakash Gnawali, University of Houston
  • Raja Jurdak, Queensland University of Technology
  • Tomasz Jurdzinski, University of Wroclaw
  • Evangelos Kranakis, Carleton University
  • Olaf Landsiedel, Kiel University
  • Jun Luo, Nanyang Technological Univeristy
  • Gaia Maselli, University of Rome
  • Prasant Misra, TATA Consultancy Services
  • Nathalie Mitton, Inria Lille-Nord Europe
  • Miguel Mosteiro, Pace University
  • Sirajum Munir, Bosch Research
  • Enrico Natalizio, University of Lorraine/Loria
  • Shijia Pan, University of California Merced
  • Gian Pietro Picco, University of Trento
  • Cristina Pinotti, University of Perugia
  • Theofanis Raptis, IIT-CNR
  • Francesco Restuccia, Northeastern University
  • Utz Roedig, University College Cork
  • Simone Silvestri, University of Kentucky
  • Nicolas Tsiftes, RISE Research Institutes of Sweden
  • Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou, University of New Mexico
  • Damla Turgut, University of Central Florida
  • Ambuj Varshney, University of California,Berkeley
  • Vasos Vassiliou, University of Cyprus
  • Antonio Virdis, University of Pisa
  • Thiemo Voigt, Swedish Institute of Computer Science
  • Dong Wang, University of Notre Dame
  • Hongkai Wen, University of Warwick
  • Chenren Xu, Peking University
  • Jie Yang, Florida State University
  • Desheng Zhang, Rutgers University
  • Xiaolong Zheng, Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications

Local Chairs :

  • Vasos Vassiliou (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
  • Zinon Zinonos (Neapolis University Pafos, Cyprus)

Workshop Chairs :

  • Enrico Natalizio (University of Lorraine, France)
  • Zhangyu Guan (University at Buffalo, The State University of New York, USA)

Poster & Demo Chairs :

  • Thomas Lagkas (International Hellenic University, Greece)
  • Roger Chamberlain (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)

Proceedings Chairs :

  • Marios Angelopoulos (Bournemouth University, UK)

Publicity Chairs :

  • Eirini Eleni Tsiropoulou (University of New Mexico, USA)
  • Lei Shu (Nanjing Agricultural University & University of Lincoln, China/UK)
  • Tamoghna Ojha (IIT-CNR, Italy)

Steering Committee Chair :

  • Sotiris Nikoletseas (University of Patras and CTI, Greece)

********* Collocated Events **********

DCOSS 2021 collocates with several thematic Workshops and Special Sessions on emerging topics and technologies. For more info:

The event will also feature a poster and demo session.