The 4th IEEE/ACM International Conference on
June 11 - 14, 2008,
Santorini Island, Greece

New in 2008:
  • Demo Session
  • Work-in-Progress Session
  • IJDSN Special Issue on Best Papers of DCoSS 08
  • Students Competition
Important Dates:
Papers Due: 11:59pm EST, February 5, 2008 [extended]
Notification: March 20, 2008
Camera Ready: April 3, 2008

Poster, Demo, Work-in-Progress:
Submission due 5PM PST: April 21, 2008 [extended]
Acceptance notification: April 30, 2008
Final copy due on: May 9, 2008


Distributed sensor systems have become a highly active research area due to their potential for providing diverse new capabilities. Such systems allow intelligent dense monitoring of physical environments, which makes them immensely useful for data collection and analysis. The focus of the conference is on distributed computing issues in large-scale networked sensor systems (including algorithms, applications, and systematic design techniques and tools), but networking-related contributions that support high level abstractions are also welcome.

Authors are invited to submit original unpublished manuscripts that demonstrate current research on computational aspects of distributed sensor systems. Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Computation and programming models
  • Energy models, minimization, awareness
  • Distributed algorithms for collaborative information processing
  • Theoretical performance analysis: complexity, correctness, scalability
  • Abstractions for modular design
  • Languages, operating systems
  • Task allocation, reprogramming and reconfiguration
  • Dynamic resource management
  • Scalable, heterogeneous architectures (node and system-level)
  • Middleware interfaces, communication and processing primitives
  • Design, simulation and optimization tools for deployment and operation
  • Design automation and application synthesis techniques
  • Case studies: lessons from real world deployments
Detailed submission guidelines are available here. The submission system (via EasyChair) is now open.
Best paper awards will be given in each of the three conference technical tracks: algorithms, applications, and systems. DCOSS '08 Proceedings will appear through the Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) Series of Springer Verlag. Selected best DCOSS '08 papers will be invited to a dedicated Special Issue of the International Journal of Distributed Sensor Networks (IJDSN).

DCOSS '08 will co-locate with several related workshops on special topics, including the Workshop on Localized Algorithms and Protocols for Wireless Sensor Networks (LOCALGOS), the Workshop on Information Theory for Sensor Networks (WITS), the Workshop on Sensor Network Engineering (IWSNE), the Workshop on Energy in Wireless Sensor Networks (WEWSN), the Workshop on Wireless Sensor Network Deployments (WiDeploy).

Organization Committee:
General Chair
Tarek Abdelzaher, UIUC, USA

Vice General Chair
Viktor K. Prasanna, USC, USA

Program Chair
Sotiris Nikoletseas, Univ. of Patras and CTI, Greece

Program Vice-Chairs
Bogdan Chlebus (Algorithms), Univ. of Colorado at Denver, USA
Dave Johnson (Systems), Rice University, USA
Bhaskar Krishnamachari (Applications), USC, USA

Program Committee (Algorithms)
  • Matthew Andrews, Bell Labs, USA
  • James Aspnes, Yale, USA
  • Costas Busch, Louisiana State University, USA
  • Bogdan Chlebus (Chair), University of Colorado Denver, USA
  • Andrea Clementi, University of Rome `Tor Vergata', Italy
  • Eric Fleury, ENS Lyon/INRIA, France
  • Rachid Guerraoui, EPF Lozanne, Switzerland
  • Evangelos Kranakis, Carlton University, Canada
  • Shay Kutten, Technion, Israel
  • Miroslaw Kutylowski, Wroclaw Technical University, Poland
  • Andrew McGregor, University of California San Diego, USA
  • Muthu Muthukrishnan, Google, USA
  • Christian Scheideler, Technical University Munich, Germany
  • Maria Serna, Technical University of Catalonia, Spain
  • Paul Spirakis, University of Patras, Greece
  • Srikanta Tirthapura, Iowa State University, USA

Program Committee (Systems)
  • Stefano Basagni, Northeastern University, USA
  • Prithwish Basu, BBN, USA
  • Jan Beutel, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Andrew Campbell, Dartmouth College, USA
  • Amol Deshpande, University of Maryland, USA
  • Yih-Chun Hu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Bill Kaiser, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • David B. Johnson (Chair), Rice University, USA
  • Sharad Mehrotra, University of California, Irvine, USA
  • Shivakant Mishra, University of Colorado at Boulder, USA
  • Santashil PalChaudhuri, Aruba Networks, USA
  • Adrian Perrig, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Chiara Petrioli, University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy
  • Mani Srivastava, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  • Wei Ye, USC Information Sciences Institute, USA
  • Vladimir Zadorozhny, University of Pittsburgh, USA

Program Committee (Applications)
  • Dinos Ferentinos, Agricultural University of Athens, Greece
  • Paul Havinga, University of Twente, Netherlands
  • Stuart Kininmonth, Australian Institute of Marine Sciences, Australia
  • Bhaskar Krishnamachari (Chair), University of Southern California, USA
  • Koen Langendoen, TU Delft, Netherlands
  • Suman Nath, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Neal Patwari, University of Utah, USA
  • Joe Polastre, Sentilla, USA
  • Cem Saraydar, General Motors, USA
  • Vikram Srinivasan, National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • Andrea Terzis, John Hopkins University, USA
  • Sameer Tilak, San Diego Supercomputer Center, UC San Diego, USA
  • Kamin Whitehouse, University of Virginia, USA
  • Yang Yu, Motorola Research, USA
  • Kasun De Zoysa, University of Colombo, Sri Lanka

Workshops Chair
Koen Langendoen, Delft University of Technology, Netherlands

Poster Chair
Yang Yu, Motorola Labs, USA

Work In Progress Chair
Kay Roemer, ETH/Zurich, Switzerland

Demo Chair
Thiemo Voigt, Swedish Institute of Computer Science, Sweden

Competition Chair
Luis Almeida, Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal

Proceedings Chair
Zachary Baker, Los Alamos National Labs, USA

Publicity and Web Chairs
Tian He, University of Minnesota, USA
Animesh Pathak, USC , USA
Cristina Pinotti, University of Perugia, Italy

Finance Chair
Germaine Gusthiot, University of Geneva, Switzerland

Sponsored by:
IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Parallel Processing (TCPP)
IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Distributed Processing (TCDP)
Held in co-operation with ACM SIGARCH, ACM SIGBED,
European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and IFIP WG 10.3.


Send questions and comments to
Maintained by Animesh Pathak (  -  Last modified on Mon, 8 Sep 2008
back to DCOSS home