DCOSS 2008 Accepted Papers

DCOSS '08 received a record number of 116 submissions. The Program Committee selected the following 29 papers (25% acceptance ratio):

  • [Best Paper - Algorithms] Venkatesan Ekambaram, Tarun Agarwal and P. Vijay Kumar. On the average case communication complexity for detection in sensor networks
  • Yuliy Baryshnikov, Kyung Joon Kwak, Edward Coffman and Bill Moran. Stochastic Counting in Sensor Networks, or: Noise is Good
  • Andreas Wiese and Evangelos Kranakis. Local PTAS for Independent Set and Vertex Cover in Location Aware Unit Disk Graphs
  • Yann Busnel, Leonardo Querzoni, Roberto Baldoni, Marin Bertier and Anne-Marie Kermarrec. On the deterministic tracking of moving objects with a binary sensor network
  • Soeren Laue, Stefan Funke, Rouven Naujoks and Zvi Lotker. Power Assignment Problems in Wireless Communication: Covering Points by Disks, Reaching few Receivers Quickly, and Energy-efficient Travelling Salesman Tours
  • Joon Ahn and Bhaskar Krishnamachari. Performance of a Propagation Delay Tolerant ALOHA Protocol for Underwater Wireless Networks
  • Zhiguo Zhang, Ajay Kshemkalyani and Sol Shatz. Multi-root, Multi-query Processing in Sensor Networks
  • Alexandre GUITTON, Niki Trigoni and Sven Helmer. Fault-tolerant Compression Algorithms for Delay-sensitive Sensor Networks with Unreliable Links
  • Olga Saukh, Robert Sauter and Pedro Jose Marron. Time-bounded and Space-bounded Sensing in Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Matthew P. Johnson, Hosam Rowaihy, Diego Pizzocaro, Amotz Bar-Noy, Stuart Chalmers, Thomas La Porta and Alun Preece. Frugal Sensor Assignment
  • Cheng Qian and Hairong Qi. Coverage estimation in the presence of occlusions for visual sensor networks
  • Yuh-Jzer Joung. Tug-of-War: An Adaptive and Cost-Optimal Data Storage and Query Mechanism in Wireless Sensor Networks
  • [Best Paper - Systems] Ryo Sugihara and Rajesh Gupta. Improving the Data Delivery Latency in Sensor Networks with Controlled Mobility
  • Jung-Eun Kim, Man-Ki Yoon, Junghee Han and Chang-Gun Lee. Sensor Placement for 3-Coverage with Minimum Separation Requirements
  • Arvind Seshadri, Mark Luk and Adrian Perrig. SAKE: Software Attestation for Key Establishment in Sensor Networks
  • Bor-rong Chen, Geoffrey Peterson, Geoffrey Mainland and Matt Welsh. LiveNet: Using Passive Monitoring to Reconstruct Sensor Network Dynamics
  • Emiliano Miluzzo, Nicholas Lane, Andrew T. Campbell and Reza Olfati-Saber. CaliBree: a Self-Calibration System for Mobile Sensor Networks
  • Zhong-Yi Jin and Rajesh Gupta. Improved Distributed Simulation of Sensor Networks based on Sensor Node Sleep Time
  • Pascal von Rickenbach and Roger Wattenhofer. Decoding Code on a Sensor Node
  • Shane Eisenman, Nicholas Lane and Andrew T. Campbell. Techniques for Improving Opportunistic Sensor Networking Performance
  • Isaac Amundson, Branislav Kusy, Peter Volgyesi, Xenofon Koutsoukos and Akos Ledeczi. Time Synchronization in Heterogeneous Sensor Networks
  • Mohammad Khan, Tarek Abdelzaher and Kamal Gupta. Towards Diagnostic Simulation in Sensor Networks
  • Wei Dong, Chun Chen, Xue Liu, Kougen Zheng, Rui Chu and jiajun Bu. FIT: A Flexible, LIght-Weight and Real-Time Scheduling System for Wireless Sensor Platforms
  • Yu-Shian CHEN, I-Lun Lin, Chin-Laung Lei and Yen-Hua Liao. Broadcast Authentication in Sensor Networks using Compressed Bloom Filters
  • [Best Paper - Applications] Hany Morcos, George Atia, Azer Bestavros and Abraham Matta. An Information Theoretic Framework for Field Monitoring Using Autonomously Mobile Sensors
  • Yi Fei Dong, Salil Kanhere, Chun Tung Chou and Nirupama Bulusu. Automatic collection of fuel prices from a network of mobile cameras
  • Hugo Conceição, Michel Ferreira and João Barros. On the Urban Connectivity of Vehicular Sensor Networks
  • Mihai Marin-Perianu, Clemens Lombriser, Oliver Amft, Paul Havinga and Gerhard Troster. Distributed Activity Recognition with Fuzzy-Enabled Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Supriyo Chatterjea and Paul Havinga. An Adaptive and Autonomous Sensor Sampling Frequency Control Scheme for Energy-Efficient Data Acquisition in Wireless Sensor Networks
These papers get 14 pages in the Springer Proceedings and 20 minutes in the program.

The following 12 papers have been accepted as short papers (6 pages in the Springer Proceedings, 10 minutes in the program):

  • Chun-Lung Lin, Hai Fu Wang, Sheng Kai Chang, and Jia Shung Wang. Optimal Rate Allocation for Rate-constrained Applications in Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Adriano Fagiolini, Lisa Tani, Antonio Bicchi and Gianluca Dini. A Distributed Algorithm for Optimal Connected Sensing Coverage with Mobile Nodes
  • Animesh Pathak and Viktor Prasanna. Energy-Efficient Task Mapping for Data-driven Sensor Network Macroprogramming
  • Bo Jiang, Binoy Ravindran and Hyeonjoong Cho. Energy Efficient Sleep Scheduling in Sensor Networks for Multiple Target Tracking
  • Novella Bartolini, Tiziana Calamoneri, Emanuele Guido Fusco, Annalisa Massini and Simone Silvestri. Snap and Spread: a self-deployment algorithm for mobile sensor networks
  • Sylvie Delaet, Partha Sarathi Mandal, Mariusz A. Rokicki and Sebastien Tixeuil. Deterministic Secure Positioning in Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Sangho Yi, Seungwoo Lee, Yookun Cho and Jiman Hong. SESAME-P: Memory Pool-based Dynamic Stack Management for Resource-Constrained Embedded Systems
  • Anthony Wood, Leo Selavo and John Stankovic. SenQ: An Embedded Query System for Streaming Data in Heterogeneous Interactive Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Qiuhua Cao and John Stankovic. An In-Field-Maintenance Framework for Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Vladimir Dyo and Cecilia Mascolo. Efficient Node Discovery in Mobile Wireless Sensor Networks
  • Luca Filipponi, Silvia Santini and Andrea Vitaletti. Data Collection in Wireless Sensor Networks for Noise Pollution Monitoring
  • Nam Pham and Tarek Abdelzaher. Robust Dynamic Human Activity Recognition based on Relative Energy Allocation

We congratulate the authors of all the above papers, and look forward to seeing you in Santorini.

Sotiris Nikoletseas, Program Chair
Bogdan Chlebus, Program Vice Chair of Algorithms Track
Dave Johnson, Program Vice Chair of Systems Track
Bhaskar Krishnamachari, Program Vice Chair of Applications Track


Send questions and comments to webmaster@dcoss.org
Maintained by Animesh Pathak (animesh@usc.edu)  -  Last modified on Mon, 8 Sep 2008
back to DCOSS home